Defense Minister urges Oppn not to POLITICIZE new Par Building launch
Defense Minister urges Oppn not to POLITICIZE new Par Building launch

NEW DELHI: Rajnath Singh, the Union Minister of Defence, stated on Friday that no one should politicize the groundbreaking of the new Parliament Building because the building represents democracy and the dream of all Indians. On May 28, Prime Minister Modi will dedicate the new Parliament Building.

Also read- Parliament Building: SENGOL moved to Delhi for installation

In a statement to the media, Rajnath Singh said, "The new Parliament building will be dedicated on May 28. The new Parliament represents democracy and the goal of all Indians, thus no one should politicize this. I'm pleading with all parties who have chosen to abstain from the Parliament's inauguration to reconsider their choice.

The boycott has been announced jointly by over 20 political groups, including the Congress, Left, TMC, SP, and AAP. They claim there is no use in constructing a new structure since the "soul of democracy has been sucked out."

They have also voiced opposition to the choice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi to perform the ceremonial groundbreaking, arguing that this is an insult to the President of India's highest constitutional office.

Also read- CM Shivraj said on the inauguration of the new parliament - 'Boycott is very shameful'

Separately, AIMIM leader Asaduddin Owaisi declared that his party would not attend the ceremony if Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla would not open the new Parliament building.

Even though 20 opposition parties have made the decision to boycott the ceremony, up to 25 parties are anticipated to attend Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Sunday opening of the new Parliament building.

Also read- Dhami Reacts, as 20 Oppositions Announce Boycott of New House inauguration by PM

then than the 18 members of the ruling NDA, including the BJP, 7 non-NDA allies will attend the ceremony, going by their stated position on the issue which has snowballed into another political flashpoint between the ruling NDA and opposition camps.

The seven non-NDA parties expected to attend the event are the BSP, Shiromani Akali Dal, Janata Dal (Secular), Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), YSR Congress, BJD, and TDP.

For the BJP-led NDA, the presence of these seven parties, who collectively represent 50 MPs in the Lok Sabha, will be a huge relief. Their involvement will aid the NDA in debunking the claim made by the Opposition that it is all a government event.

Also read- Historical SENGOL from Tamilnadu will be set up in new Parliament Bldg

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News