IND vs AUS: Australia Bolsters T20I Squad as Six World Cup Champions Depart Mid-Series
IND vs AUS: Australia Bolsters T20I Squad as Six World Cup Champions Depart Mid-Series

New Delhi: Amidst India's commanding 2-0 lead in the series against Australia, six key members from the victorious 2023 World Cup squad are heading back home. Notably absent for the upcoming third match in Guwahati will be Steven Smith and Adam Zampa.

In the Indian squad of 15 players, skipper Suryakumar Yadav stands as the sole member from the team that clashed with Australia in the World Cup final on November 19 in Ahmedabad. Shreyas Iyer is set to join the team for the final two matches, potentially turning them into dead rubbers if India extends their lead to 3-0 today.

Australia Shuffles the Deck

Australia's squad has seen six changes, with Smith and Zampa departing alongside Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, and Josh Inglis following the third T20I.

Travis Head, the standout performer in the World Cup final, remains the only member of the championship squad staying for the entire T20I series. However, despite his heroics, Head has yet to feature in the first two matches, both of which Australia lost convincingly.

Smith confirmed his participation in the Big Bash League opener for Sydney Sixers on December 8 before rejoining the national squad for the Test series against Pakistan.

Noteworthy reinforcements include wicketkeeper-batter Josh Phillippe and the explosive Ben McDermott, both vying for selection in the crucial third T20I, which Australia needs to win to stay in contention.

Further changes are expected with fast bowler Ben Dwarshuis and spinner Chris Green set to join the squad for the final two matches. The fourth T20I is scheduled for December 1 in Raipur, followed by the concluding match in Bengaluru on December 3.

Mumbai Indians Welcomes Hardik Pandya Home: A Heartwarming Reunion

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group