Indian hockey team into the final of 'Asian Champions Trophy'
Indian hockey team into the final of 'Asian Champions Trophy'

Indian hockey team is making the nation proud as the team has reached the final of fourth Asian Champions Trophy in Kuantan. In the semi-final, the team has defeated south Korea to mark the place into the final. India went on to win the penalty shootout 5-4 as seasoned custodian PR Sreejesh thwarted the last South Korean attempt by Lee Dae-Yeol. Leading through an early goal by Talwinder Singh in the 15th minute, India saw South Korea make it 1-1 through a field goal by Seo In-Woo in the 21st minute. The Koreans went 2-1 ahead in the 53rd minute on a penalty stroke conversion by Yang Ji-Hun.

"Trailing 1-2, we needed something special to get back in the contest and that sparkle was provided by Sardar Singh," said Oltmans, praising the former India captain and the most experienced member of the squad for setting up the 55th-minute goal that earned India 2-2 parity after they had slipped behind.

It is for the third time, the team has made it to the finals. In the inaugural season of 2011 India have won while in the next 2012 we were runner ups with the winning team Pakistan.

Champion Sakshi malik will be making more champions in her own wrestling nursery

Amit Mishra shines as hosts clinches series

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News