Bypolls live updates: Take a glance at 10 Points cheatsheet

May 28 2018 11:54 AM
Bypolls live updates: Take a glance at 10 Points cheatsheet

On Monday, with the crucial by-elections in the 10 states, four Lok Sabha seats and 10 assembly constituencies are voting for their desired candidates. Among all the Lok Sabha seats, Kairana is politically important in western Uttar Pradesh. It is said to be a test case for opposition alliance ahead of next year's Lok Sabha elections. 

According to the reports, SP, Mayawati and the Congress are backing the candidate of Ajit Singh's Rashtriya Lok Dal. Apart from Kairana, by-polls are also being held in Maharashtra's Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya parliamentary constituencies and a seat in Nagaland, reports NDTV.

Earlier, there have been reports of some polling machine breakdown from Kairana, Punjab's Shahkot seat, Maharashtra's Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya. The counting of the same by-polls is on Thursday that is May 31.

Here is your 10-point cheatsheet to the by-elections in 10 states:

1. Kairana's biggest polling station is seeing a slow speed of voting after over 10 polling devices stopped working. RLD candidate Tabassum Hassan has registered an official objection on Voter Verified Paper Audit Trails devices. Tabassum said that 59 of these polling machines are not working. Till 9 am in the morning, 10.20% voting was recorded.

2. After the death of Hukum Singh, the BJP has fielded his daughter Mriganka Singh for the seat. The chief minister, his deputy and some of the top ministers have campaigned in the constituency to face the opposition challenge.

3. On Sunday, PM Narendra Modi held a public meeting in Baghpat. This meeting was close to the Kairana constituency while inaugurating an expressway. In his speech, he spoke about the issues concerning sugarcane farmers and law & order that the opposition claims is a violation of the model code of conduct.

4. The opposition parties are foreseeing their channels to give Dalit, Muslim and Jat votes to Tabassum Hasan. It is required to recreate the successes in Gorakhpur and Phulpur which are the seats held by UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya earlier.

5. Bypoll to Palghar Lok Sabha seat in MH has added more pressure to the tension between the Shiv Sena and the BJP. After the Shiv Sena gave a ticket to the son of a sitting BJP legislator who died earlier in 2018, the BJP fielded former Congress minister Rajendra Gavit. The former Congress minister Rajendra Gavit joined the BJP party earlier this month.

6. By-election to the reserved Bhandara-Gondiya seat after BJP parliamentarian Nana Patole resigned and joined the Congress. The BJP has fielded its previous legislator Hemant Patel Vs NCP's Madhukar Kukde who is also backed by the Congress.

7. The Nagaland assembly seat was vacant after Neiphiu Rio resigned. He then became a chief minister. Earlier this year, his Nationalist Democratic People's Party partnered with the BJP to form a government. In Monday's by-poll, it's a direct competition between the two regional fronts, one backed by the BJP and the other supported by the Congress.

8. The Congress is expecting to win the central Kerala assembly seat of Chengannur. Chengannur is the Left that normally gets the voters' backing. The BJP too is expecting to work strongly in Chengannur than it did in the 2016 state elections.

9. In Bihar's Jokihat, the by-poll is being seen as an influence fight for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar as sitting JD(U) legislator Sarfaraz Alam quit the party and joined the RJD. This had happened after Mr Kumar joined hands with the BJP last year. After Mr Alam acquired the Araria Lok Sabha by-poll earlier this year, the RJD has fielded his younger brother to take on JD(U)'s Murshid Alam.

10. Bypolls in Ampati assembly seat in Meghalaya's Garo hills is a fighting between the ruling National People's Party-led coalition led by Chief Minister Conrad Sangma and the Congress, led by previous Chief Minister Mukul Sangma.

© 2019 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED