NITI Aayog VC Rajiv Kumar Steps Down, Suman Bery to take charge
NITI Aayog VC Rajiv Kumar Steps Down, Suman Bery to take charge

New Delhi, India: Rajiv Kumar has stepped down as vice-chairman of Niti Aayog after nearly five years in the position, and will be succeeded on May 1 by economist Suman K Bery.

According to a statement from the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Dr Suman K Bery has been appointed as a full-time member of the Niti Aayog "with immediate effect" until April 30, on the same terms and conditions as full-time members of the Niti Aayog.

Kumar's resignation was also authorised by the Cabinet Appointments Committee, which said that he will be relieved of his duties on April 30.

"Appointment of Dr Suman K Bery as Vice-Chairperson, NITI Aayog, with effect from May 1, 2022 till further orders, on the same terms and conditions as were applicable to the former Vice-Chairperson, NITI Aayog," said the notification announcing Bery's appointment.

Kumar had assumed the role of vice-chairman of the government's think tank in August 2017, succeeding Arvind Panagariya, who had elected to return to his teaching position at Columbia University.

Meanwhile, Bery, a well-known economist, served as Director-General of the National Council of Applied Economic Research in the past (NCAER). He also served on the Prime Minister's Economic Advisory Council, the Statistical Commission, and the Reserve Bank of India's technical committee. During India's economic reforms, Berry also worked for the World Bank.

Supreme Court stays hanging of 4-year-old girl's rapist and murderer

Tej Pratap sends invitation to Shah for Iftar, tweeted this''

Niti Aayog released draft battery swapping policy for EVs

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News