Rajya Sabha Chairman Revamps Vice-Chairpersons Panel with 50% Women MPs
Rajya Sabha Chairman Revamps Vice-Chairpersons Panel with 50% Women MPs

NEW DELHI: The Rajya Sabha Chairman, Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar, has undertaken a significant reconfiguration of the vice-chairpersons panel, introducing a pivotal change by ensuring that 50% of its members are women parliamentarians. This progressive move sets the stage for potential further increases in female representation in this crucial committee.

The newly revamped eight-member panel now boasts four accomplished women members, featuring prominent figures such as Kanta Kardam and Sumitra Balmik from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), along with Geeta, also known as Chandraprabha. The Biju Janata Dal's Mamata Mohanta rounds out this impressive quartet.

Chairman Dhankhar made this historic announcement within the hallowed halls of the Upper House on the inaugural day of the Special Session of Parliament, commencing on September 13, 2023. In a statement, he emphasized, "I am pleased to inform the esteemed members of this House that, as of September 13, 2023, the panel of vice-chairpersons has been revamped. It is a moment of pride to note that half of the vice-chairpersons are accomplished women."

As the Chairman unveiled the names of the newly appointed vice chairpersons, each of whom is a woman, he underscored the possibility of further augmenting the female presence within the panel as a sign of progress. These vice chairpersons play a vital role in presiding over the house in the absence of the Chairman or Deputy Chairman.

In addition to these prominent female leaders, the panel includes distinguished individuals from various political backgrounds. Notably, Akhilesh Prasad Singh from the Congress party, Narain Dass Gupta representing the Aam Aadmi Party, V Vijayasai Reddy from the YSR Congress Party, and Santanu Sen hailing from the Trinamool Congress have been named as members of this influential committee.

The Special Session of Parliament is scheduled to convene from September 18 to September 22, setting the stage for constructive deliberations and policy developments under the leadership of this newly constituted panel of vice chairpersons.

PM Modi Carries on Parliament Special Session Bids Farewell to Historic House

PM Modi to address Parliament Special Session in Lok Sabha at 11 am

On the special session of Parliament, the Mystery Session starts today

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News