Satyapal Malik sworn in as 19th Governor of Meghalaya

Shillong: On Wednesday, Satyapal Malik was sworn in as the 19th Governor of Meghalaya at an event at Raj Bhavan. Chief Justice of Meghalaya High Court Biswanath Somaddar administered the oath of office and secrecy to Satyapal Malik in the presence of Sangma of CM Conrad and the members of his cabinet.

Satyapal Malik succeeds Tathagata Roy, whose 5-year tenure was completed in May. In a statement issued from Rashtrapati Bhavan on Tuesday, it was said that the Governor of Goa has been transferred and appointed the Governor of Meghalaya. Rashtrapati Bhavan said in a statement that Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari has been given additional charge of Goa. The former governor has served 3 years as Governor of Tripura and the remaining 2 years as Governor of Meghalaya during his five-year term.

There is no fixed term of the governor but traditionally it is considered as 5 years. There are also many such samples when the governor has been in office for a long time. ECL Narasimhan was governor of Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh and then Telangana for twelve consecutive years. Satyapal Malik (73) was the last governor of the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir. On 5 August last year, the Central Government had announced the elimination of most of the provisions of Article 370 giving special status to Jammu and Kashmir, making Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh 2 Union Territories.

These veteran leaders became backbone of Gehlot government

America will give refuge to Hindus and Sikhs of Afghanistan, Motion presented in US Parliament

Cases of coronavirus increasing continuously in Brazil

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -