Sonia Gandhi Unanimously Elected To Rajya Sabha From Rajasthan
Sonia Gandhi Unanimously Elected To Rajya Sabha From Rajasthan

Sonia Gandhi Secures Rajya Sabha Seat from Rajasthan: Jaipur, Today, Sonia Gandhi, a prominent leader of the Congress party, has been declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan, officials confirmed. Alongside Gandhi, Bharatiya Janata Party's Chunnilal Garasiya and Madan Rathore also secured their positions uncontested in the Upper House from the state, informed Assembly Secretary Mahaveer Prasad Sharma. This announcement comes as today marks the deadline for withdrawing nominations.

Given the absence of competing candidates, all three leaders have effortlessly clinched their spots in the Rajya Sabha without a vote, stated the official.

The seats of Rajya Sabha members Manmohan Singh (Congress) and Bhupendra Yadav (BJP) are set to expire on April 3. The third seat became vacant following the resignation of BJP MP Kirodi Lal Meena from the House in December, subsequent to his election as an MLA.

In the 200-member assembly, the BJP commands 115 seats while the Congress holds 70.

Rajasthan holds a total of 10 Rajya Sabha seats. Following the recent developments, the Congress now commands six seats, leaving the BJP with four.

This development underlines the current political landscape in Rajasthan, where Sonia Gandhi's unopposed election to the Rajya Sabha solidifies her continued influence within the state's political sphere.

PM Modi Announces Bharat Ratna; Sonia Gandhi Endorses Recognition

Congress Leader Mahendrajeet Singh Malviya Joins BJP Ahead of 2024 Lok Sabha Elections

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News