State Assembly election 2021: Eight phase election in West Beganal, first phase on March 27

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced the schedule for the upcoming elections of West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry. The first phase of Assam in election to be held on Mrach 27, Second phase on April 02 and third phase on April 06. Election in Kerala and Tamil Nadu on April 06.  Election in West will be held in 8 phases. First phase will be  held on March 27, second  on April 01, Third on April 06, fourth on April 10, fifth on April 17, sixth April , Sixth phase on April 22, Seventh phase on April 26 on and Eight phase on  April 28.

The terms of legislative assemblies of Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and West Ben. gal are coming to an end in May and June. In Puducherry, President’s Rule has been imposed and the assembly kept under suspended animation after the V Narayanasamy-led Congress government resigned earlier this week ahead of a vote of confidence.

Assam has 126 Members of Legislative Assembly, West Bengal has 294, Tamil Nadu has 234, Kerala has 140 and Puducherry has 33 seats (30 elected and 3 nominated by Centre). CEC Sunil Arora had said that Assam assembly elections 2021 will be held keeping in mind the Rongali Bihu festival and CBSE board exams. Thus, it’s likely that Assam election process will be completed in April only. Arora had said that state festivals and examinations will be considered while announcing the dates for the polls in the five states. Despite corona vaccine making inroads across India, the election will be held adhering to strict Covid-19 guidelines.

Also Read: 

State Assembly election 2021:Election in Kerala and Tamil Nadu on April 06

Tributes: Home Minister salutes valour of Air Force fighters on Balakot air strikes anniversary

Home Secretary Ajay Bhalla to virtually meet his Bangladesh counterpart tomorrow


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group