Karnataka: Supreme Court to hear the petition of 17 disqualified MLAs

Sep 17 2019 11:24 AM
Karnataka:  Supreme Court to hear the petition of 17 disqualified MLAs

New Delhi: The petition of the rebel MLAs of Karnataka disqualified will be heard in the Supreme Court today. Mahesh Kumathalli of Congress, Ramesh Jarkiholi and Independent R.K. 17 MLAs, including Shankar, have filed petitions in the Supreme Court. He says that the speaker drove him out of the House without following the prescribed procedure. 

Former Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly KR Ramesh Kumar had disqualified 17 MLAs, including the JDS-Congress and Independents, under the anti-defection law till the current term of the Assembly ended. These JDS and Congress MLAs reached the Supreme Court against the decision of former Karnataka President KR Ramesh Kumar to disqualify themselves. In their petition, these leaders have said that the decision of the former president reflects political malfeasance, so the court should cancel this order.

At that time, the 14-month-old government led by HD Kumaraswamy fell due to the resignation of these rebel MLAs from the Congress-JDS. After this, BJP formed the government in Karnataka under the chairmanship of BS Yeddyurappa. After the fall of the government, the then speaker of the assembly rejected the resignations of the MLAs and accepted the applications of the concerned parties and disqualified them.

Also Read: 

Cartridges and weapons caught in West Bengal, three accused arrested

Jaya Prada attacks Azam Khan, says,' only small room can be built by begging'

Union minister of state for finance blames ex-PM for terrorism in Kashmir

Congress gives a major setback to Mayawati in Rajasthan


© 2019 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED