UP Govt  finalises 6 names for MLC post, including AMU VC
UP Govt finalises 6 names for MLC post, including AMU VC

LUCKNOW: Tariq Mansoor, vice chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University (AMU), and Saket Misra, chairman of the Ram temple construction committee, have both been proposed for election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council.

The Governor has nominated a total of six people as MLCs against eight openings, according to a notification released late on Monday night by Chandrashekhar, Special Secretary, Uttar Pradesh government.

The other four choices are Ramsurat Rajbhar, an Azamgarh native, Lalji Prasad Nirmal, a former leader of the BJP's Braj region unit, Rajnikant Maheshwari, and Chief of the party's Varanasi district unit.

The governor has the power to suggest up to 10 people for the Upper House, according to representatives of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council.

According to BJP and Chief Minister's Office sources, Saket Misra works as an investment banker, contributes to policy discussions, and advises the Poorvanchal Vikas Board. He graduated from St. Stephen's College and the Indian Institute of Management in Kolkata.

Currently, the BJP holds 74 seats in the 100-member Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, while the Samajwadi Party serves as the main opposition with nine seats.

Each of the following organisations has one representative: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Apna Dal (Sonelal), Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal (NISHAD), Jansatta Dal Loktantrik, and Shikshak Dal (non-political).

The independent group and the Independents have two members each. There were eight open seats; six of them have already been filled, leaving two open.

'Rahul Gandhi will prove fatal for the entire Congress. , why did Sakshi Maharaj say this?"

Atiq Ahmed's lawyer Khan Soulat Hanif sentenced to life imprisonment


Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group