US to lift travel bans on 8 African nations on This day
US to lift travel bans on 8 African nations on This day

The US will lift travel restrictions relating to Covid in eight African countries on December 31, the White House announced.

"On December 31, (President Joe Biden) will relax the temporary travel restrictions on Southern African countries," White House Assistant Press Secretary Kevin Munoz announced on Twitter on Friday, citing a recommendation from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Non-American citizens were forbidden from entering the US if they had visited South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, or Malawi within 14 days of their scheduled arrival, according to the travel ban, which was announced on November 29.

According to CDC data, the limits "gave us time to comprehend" the highly transmissible Omicron strain of Covid-19, which first appeared in southern Africa and quickly spread over the world, today accounting for over 70% of new cases in the US. He believes that getting fully vaccinated and boosted is still an effective strategy to combat Omicron.

Turkish President urges sectoral price cuts as the Lira rebounds

The United Nations extends its exemption to travel bans on Afghan Taliban leaders

The suspension of funding has halted several Afghan electricity projects, Know Afghan's Plight



Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News