22nd Anniversary of Parliament Attack: PM Modi and Top Leaders Pay Homage to Fallen Jawans
22nd Anniversary of Parliament Attack: PM Modi and Top Leaders Pay Homage to Fallen Jawans

New Delhi witnessed a solemn gathering on Wednesday as Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a cohort of eminent political figures congregated at the historic Parliament building to honor the memory of the brave soldiers who lost their lives in the 2001 Parliament Attack, marking its 22nd anniversary.

Among those paying their respects were Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP National President JP Nadda, and Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar, who offered their tributes to the fallen Jawans.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi personally engaged with the families of the martyred Jawans, acknowledging their sacrifice during the tragic events of December 13, 2001.

Leaders from the Congress party, including President Mallikarjun Kharge and Parliamentary Party Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, also laid floral tributes in honor of the fallen heroes. Congress MPs, including Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, were present to pay their respects on this somber occasion.

Recalling the fateful day, December 13, 2001, Assistant Sub-Inspectors Jagdish, Matbar, Kamlesh Kumari, Nanak Chand, Rampal, along with Head Constables Om Prakash, Bijender Singh, Ghanshyam from the Delhi Police, and Deshraj, a gardener with CPWD, valiantly sacrificed their lives while defending the Parliament against the terrorist attack.

The attack, perpetrated by members of Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), both Pakistan-raised terrorist organizations, resulted in the tragic deaths of five Delhi Police personnel, two Parliament Security Service personnel, one CRPF Constable, and a gardener. It further escalated tensions between India and Pakistan, sparking the 2001-2002 India-Pakistan standoff.

During the attack, five terrorists, infiltrating the Parliament in a car disguised with Home Ministry and Parliament labels, were neutralized. Over a hundred individuals, including prominent politicians, were present within the parliamentary premises during the assault. The assailants exploited a counterfeit identity sticker on their vehicle to breach the security cordon around the complex. Armed with AK47 rifles, grenade launchers, and pistols, the gunmen targeted the Indian Vice President Krishan Kant's vehicle, unleashing gunfire upon disembarking. In response, the Vice President's security personnel retaliated and swiftly secured the compound gates.

Indian security agencies, along with Delhi Police officials, confirmed that the attackers received directives from Pakistan, executing the operation under the guidance of Pakistan's Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) agency.

The commemoration served as a poignant reminder of the bravery and sacrifice displayed by the fallen heroes and highlighted the need for continued vigilance against such acts of terrorism.
 Read More: This day in History: Terrorist Attack on Indian Parliament, A Grim Chapter in History


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News