After Wayanad, Rahul Gandhi in lead with 1000 votes in Amethi

May 23 2019 10:10 AM
After Wayanad, Rahul Gandhi in lead with 1000 votes in Amethi

After gaining lead in Wayanad, Congress president Rahul Gandhi is now ahead by over 1,000 votes in Amethi also. As early leads came in, Rahul Gandhi was behind the BJP's Smriti Irani. Rahul Gandhi is also contesting from Wayanad in Kerala, where he is leading.

also read: BJP candidate Giriraj Singh leads, Kanhaiya Kumar trails

Smriti Irani campaigned aggressively in Amethi, where she had contested and lost to Rahul Gandhi in 2014 but had managed to reduce his winning margin to one lakh. She kept visiting the constituency regularly and launched central schemes there. Rahul Gandhi's winning margin over Smriti Irani was little over 1 lakh votes. He had won 2009 election by around 2.70 lakh votes.

As Rahul Gandhi leads in Amethi, it now remains to be seen if the Congress president can emerge as the winner in the tough contest in Amethi, courtesy Smriti Irani. If Rahul Gandhi loses in his traditional seat, a Congress stronghold that has remained with the Gandhi family for decades, it will be a huge victory for the BJP.

Meanwhile, Congress chairperson Sonia Gandhi is leading on the Raebareli Lok Sabha constituency by just 1,000 votes. As per early trends, Bhartiya Janta Party candidate, Giriraj SIngh from Begusrai constituency is leading by 15,346 votes. While, former JNU students union leader and CPI candidate Kanhaiya Kumar is trailing from Begusarai Lok Sabha seat in Bihar in 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

also read: Rahul Gandhi will be ‘Next PM’: MK Stalin

© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED