ICC announces upcoming projects to double world cup fun

New Delhi: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced a schedule for its Future Tour Programme (FTP). ICC said that from 2024, 1-1 ICC events will be held in men's and women's formats every year. That is, a total of 8-8 events will be held in both the categories from 2024 to 2031. A total of 27 ICC events will be played from 2023 to 2031. The T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held this year and in 2022. This means a total of 29 ICC tournaments will be held in the next 10 years.

The number of teams in men's ODI and T20 World Cup has also been increased. 14 teams will now participate in the ODI World Cup and 20 teams will participate in the T20 World Cup. Men's ODI world cup will be played in super-6 format for the first time in 2027 since 2003. With this, the Champions Trophy tournament has returned. The tournament was cancelled in 2018 and the T20 World Cup was replaced. The tournament will be played in 2025 and 2029 in the next FTP.

There will be 14 teams and 54 matches will be played in the Men's ODI World Cup. It will have 2 groups of 7-7 teams, followed by Super-6 matches.  This will be followed by semifinals and finals. The World Test Championships, which began in 2018, suffered a lot due to corona in the current FTP. The tournament will be held every 2 years in the next FTP. WTC finals will be played in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031.

Novak Djokovic's father slams Australian Open organizers

Messi beats Ronaldo and Lewandowski to win Ballon d'Or

Ind Vs NZ: Team India could not take 1 wicket in 52 balls

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -