India Overtakes Pakistan to Set Enormous T20I Record After Series Victory Against Australia
India Overtakes Pakistan to Set Enormous T20I Record After Series Victory Against Australia

During the fourth T20I clash against Australia at Raipur, the Indian cricket team clinched a remarkable milestone, securing their position as the team with the highest number of victories in the T20I format. India claimed a convincing 20-run victory in the fourth game, restricting Australia to 154/7 while defending a target of 175 runs. This win not only sealed their triumph in the five-match series with a 3-1 scoreline but also marked their 136th triumph in the format. Since their T20I debut in 2006, India has competed in 213 matches, winning 136, losing 67, with one ending in a tie. Additionally, three matches concluded with no result, resulting in a formidable win percentage of 63.84 for India in the T20I format.

This recent victory propels India beyond Pakistan, who previously held the record with 135 wins in 226 matches.

Other leading teams in T20I cricket include New Zealand (102 wins in 200 matches), Australia (95 wins in 181 matches), and South Africa (95 wins in 171 matches).

Delving into the match, Australia elected to bowl first. Contributions from Yashasvi Jaiswal (37 runs in 28 balls, including six fours and a six), Ruturaj Gaikwad (32 runs in 28 balls, with three fours and a six), Rinku Singh (46 runs in 29 balls, comprising four boundaries and two sixes), and Jitesh Sharma (35 runs in 19 balls, including a four and three sixes) propelled India to a total of 174/9 in their allotted 20 overs.

Ben Dwarshuis (3/40) showcased a commendable performance with the ball in his second T20I appearance, supported by Tanveer Sangha (2/30) and Jason Behrendorff. Aaron Hardie also claimed a wicket.

In pursuit of 175 runs, Travis Head (31 runs in 16 balls, featuring five fours and a six) provided Australia with a promising start. However, they lost their momentum thereafter. Matthew Short (22 runs in 19 balls, with two fours and a six) and skipper Matthew Wade (36 runs in 23 balls, including two fours and two sixes) attempted to steer Australia towards victory, yet fell short by 20 runs.

Axar Patel (3/16) and Ravi Bishnoi (1/17) effectively controlled the run flow with their spin, while Deepak Chahar claimed 2/44. Avesh Khan also secured a wicket.

India's comprehensive 3-1 series lead, with one match remaining, earned Axar Patel the 'Player of the Match' title.

IPL Eyes USD 50 Billion in Media Rights Value by 2043, Says Chairman Arun Dhumal

Sri Lanka Cricket Announces 2024 Men's Season Fixtures

रिलेटेड टॉपिक्स
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group