Indonesia adds France to its list of countries with travel bans
Indonesia adds France to its list of countries with travel bans

Jakarta: According to the latest regulation on travel restrictions announced by the Indonesian Covid-19 Task Force, Indonesia will prevent foreign travellers from France from entering the country starting on Friday due to an increase in Omicron variant infections in the European country.

South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini, Malawi, Angola, Norway, Denmark, and the United Kingdom have all been added to Indonesia's travel ban list, according to State media.

The travel prohibition is in place because those nations have a high number of reports of local Omicron variant illnesses, or because they are geographically close to South Africa, where the Omicron variation was initially discovered. 

The Indonesian Health Ministry reported 254 omicron cases as of Wednesday, including 15 local transmissions. Indonesian citizens with travel histories from the 14 nations are also allowed to enter the country, but must first undergo a 10-day quarantine. In the meantime, Indonesian citizens and immigrants from countries not on the list must undergo a seven-day quarantine.

Australia sets Covid booster dose record: Scott Morrison

Japan Foreign Minister calls for curfew for US military bases

Ireland imposes new entry rules for travellers


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News