Manik Saha swears to serve in the Tripura Assembly
Manik Saha swears to serve in the Tripura Assembly

AGARTALA: Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha took the oath of office on Friday as a member of the Tripura parliament after winning the June 23 by-election. Saha, who resigned from the Rajya Sabha on Monday, received the oath of office and secrecy from Tripura Assembly Speaker Ratan Chakraborty.

The Chief Minister later tweeted: "today I took my oath of office in the Tripura Legislative Assembly. We shall without a doubt forward the state's development efforts with the aid of our legislative colleagues and under PM Narendra Modi's direction." 

Manik  Saha, who is also the state unit chief of the BJP, took pledge as the Chief Minister on May 15, a day after Biplab Kumar Deb quit from the top post.

On May 15, a day after Biplab Kumar Deb announced his resignation as prime minister, Saha, who also serves as the BJP's state unit leader, took the oath of office. He had six months to join the Assembly to meet the requirements of the constitution.

In the June 23 by-election, results of which was announced on June 26, the ruling BJP won 3 of the 4 seats including that of Manik Saha who defeated Congress candidate Asish Kumar Saha by a margin of 6104 votes.

On June 28, Sudip Roy Barman of the Congress, Malina Debnath of the BJP, and Swapna Das of the Paul party took their oaths of office as Tripura assembly members.

PM meets newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs today

Justice Sharma takes oath as CJ of Delhi High Court

Congress begins preparations for 'Gujarat Victory,' appoints working president

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News