PM meets newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs today
PM meets newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs today

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to meet the newly-elected Rajya Sabha parliament members today. He is expected to meet them at 4.30 pm.

Today, 27 elected members of the Rajya Sabha take the oath of office. Ten state representatives swear their oath in nine different languages.

Those who took the oath of office included RLD leader Jayant Chaudhary, Congress leaders Jairam Ramesh, Mukul Wasnik, and Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal. The members are to take oath in the presence of Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu.

12 members took oath in Hindi, while four in English, two each in Sanskrit, Kannada, Marathi and Oriya, and one each in Punjabi, Tamil and Telugu.

The Rajya Sabha Chairman clarified that those elected members who are still to take oath also can vote in the Presidential poll on July 18. They are considered to be members of the House as of the notification date, and taking the oath is only necessary in order for them to participate in House and Committee proceedings, he said.

The upcoming monsoon session of Parliament will be held similarly in accordance with COVID-19 protocol and safety standards. He advised the members to conduct thoughtful discussions while adhering to the rules and regulations in order to preserve the dignity and decorum of the House.
He gave the members advice on how to best utilise the many chances provided by the House's many instruments as well as how to consistently attend its sessions.

PM Modi: British Education system meant to create servant class

'Today the world asks for proof, along with results..,' says PM Modi on Ayurveda

PM Modi to attend 1st Arun Jaitley Memorial Lecture

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News