Mayawati's BSP to contest on all Lok Sabha seats alone in Madhya Pradesh
Mayawati's BSP to contest on all Lok Sabha seats alone in Madhya Pradesh

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) seems to have road blocked for Mahagathbandhan plans of opposition parties. a grand alliance plan is on hold by declaring that the party would contest on all seats in Madhya Pradesh during the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. As per the announcement by party’s vice president Ramji Gautam, the BSP is all set to contest on all 29 Lok Sabha seats of Madhya Pradesh.

It is noted that this comes shortly after the Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls, wherein the BSP and the Congress fought independently, but the former extended its support to the  Rahul Gandhi led party after the declaration of the results.

Ahead of the Assembly polls in the state, Mayawati had in October declared that she would not get into pre-poll coalition with the  grand old Congress party, blaming leaders like former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Digvijaya Singh. She had, however, stated that the intentions of Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi for a BSP-Congress join was “honest”.

Notably after the Congress party fell short of majority by winning 114 seats in Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls, Mayawati extended support to ensure that a Congress-led government was formed in the state. She had stated that the BSP had decided to support the Congress party so that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) could be eradicated from power.



Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group