Newly Elected MPs to Take Oath in 18th Lok Sabha's First Session: LIVE Updates
Newly Elected MPs to Take Oath in 18th Lok Sabha's First Session: LIVE Updates

The 18th Lok Sabha's first session begins today, June 24th, with newly elected Members of Parliament, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, taking their oaths. The session is anticipated to be contentious, with opposition parties planning to confront the government on several issues, including the NEET-UG controversy and UGC-NET paper leaks.

President Droupadi Murmu will oversee the swearing-in of Bhartruhari Mahtab as the pro-tem Speaker. Following this, PM Modi and other MPs will take their oaths as members of the Lok Sabha.

Key Issues and Opposition's Strategy
The NEET-UG and UGC-NET exam irregularities have already sparked significant controversy. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has indicated that the opposition will apply substantial pressure on the government to address these issues. "They can attempt to cover it up, but the opposition's pressure will make them reconsider their actions," he said at a recent press conference.

Election of the New Lok Sabha Speaker
A crucial task for this session is electing a new Speaker of the House. Given the NDA's strong performance in the recent elections, there is much speculation about who will be chosen for this important role. Until the new Speaker is elected, BJP leader and veteran MP Bhartruhari Mahtab will serve as the pro-tem Speaker.

Session Schedule
The newly elected Lok Sabha members will take their oaths over the next two days under the supervision of pro-tem Speaker Mahtab and a panel of chairpersons. The election for the new Speaker is scheduled for June 26th.

On June 27th, President Droupadi Murmu will address a joint session of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, outlining the NDA government's agenda for the next five years. This will be followed by a debate on the Motion of Thanks, with Prime Minister Modi expected to respond on July 2nd and 3rd.

In addition, newly elected Congress MPs will meet at 10 am today at the CPP office in Parliament. This session follows the recent general elections where the NDA secured 293 seats, the INDIA bloc won 234, and Congress obtained 99 seats.

18th Lok Sabha Commencement: PM Modi and Ministers to Take Oath Tomorrow

Congress Demands Restoration of Statues of Gandhi, Ambedkar in Parliament Complex

Bulgarian Election: GERB Secures Votes, Seeks Coalition for Govt, What's Next?

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News