These nine states have not submitted sex ratio data to the Centre
These nine states have not submitted sex ratio data to the Centre

New Delhi: The figure of sex ratio (SRBI) at birth has not yet been shared with the Centre by nine state governments. The nine states include Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Sikkim and West Bengal. "The states have pointed out the reasons behind not providing data on computerization and governance issues," a government official said. In some cases, we have been given only partial figures, which we will not use.

The Office of the Registrar General of India and the Census Commissioner of India in its important statistical report based on the citizen registration system for 2017 have collected data on sex ratio from all states and union territories. Sex ratio (SRBI) at birth indicates the difference between male and female. Which is calculated as the number of women on a thousand males.

These data are either from a sample survey or a birth entry in a registered system. According to the report of the Registrar General, the maximum SRBI in 2017 was in Arunachal Pradesh (1047), followed by Chhattisgarh (968), Kerala (965) and Mizoram (964). The lowest were recorded in SRBI Daman and Diu (879), Punjab (890), Gujarat (898) and Chandigarh (907). The SRBI grew from 881 in 2015 to 877 in 2016. The highest SRBI in 2016 was recorded in Sikkim (999), then Andaman and Nicobar Diu (987) and Daman and Diu (974).

Also Read:

PM Modi gets emotional on death of Arun Jaitley, says,"I lost a friend"

CM Yogi mourns death of former Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, says, " Its irreparable damage"

Arun Jaitley Passes away: Here's how was his political journey

Jaitley had protested against Indira Gandhi at just 22, was imprisoned for 19 months


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News