Once a Union Territory used to be Nagaland, thus got statehood
Once a Union Territory used to be Nagaland, thus got statehood

New Delhi: Nagaland Foundation Day is celebrated on December 1 every year. Nagaland was declared the 16th State of the Indian Union on December 1, 1963. During the 12th-13th century, the residents gradually got in touch with the 'Ahom' people of Assam, but this did not have much impact on the living conditions of these people.

On the arrival of the British in the 19th century, the State came under british administration. After its continuity, in 1957, the region became a Union Territory and its administration was seen by the Governor of Assam. It was called the 'Naga Hils Tuensang' area. But the governor's administration did not live up to the expectations of the citizens and discontent began to spread here. Hence, in 1961 it was renamed as 'Nagaland' and was granted the status of a State of the Indian Union, which was duly inaugurated on 1st December, 1963.

The state is surrounded by Myanmar in the east, Arunachal Pradesh in the north, Assam in the west and Manipur in the south. Its capital is Kohima and is also known as 'Switzerland of the East'. The total area of the State of Nagaland is 16,579 sq km. According to the 2001 census, the population of this state is 19,88,636. Apart from the border area of Assam Valley, the region of the State is mostly hilly. Its tallest hill is called Sarmati, which is about 3,840 metres high. This mountain range forms a natural boundary line between Nagaland and Myanmar.

Indian economy picks up pace, govt releases GDP growth figures

Expect double-digit growth in FY22: Chief Economic Adviser

'I thought my career was over, but then...', ashwin said.

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group