Padma Awards Ceremony Set for April 22; Govt Ensures No Violation of Poll Code
Padma Awards Ceremony Set for April 22; Govt Ensures No Violation of Poll Code

New Delhi: The prestigious Padma Awards ceremony is scheduled to take place at Rashtrapati Bhavan on April 22, following the first phase of polling on April 19. Sources familiar with the matter stated that the Election Commission of India (EC) has been duly informed, considering the enforcement of the model code of conduct.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other cabinet members are anticipated to attend the day-long event, as per the sources. These awards were announced earlier this year on the eve of Republic Day.

Officials mentioned that the awardees will be notified about the upcoming ceremony to be held next week. Many of them will need to organize their logistics, which will be coordinated by the Union Home Ministry. According to protocol, the consent of the awardees and their presence is traditionally sought at the President's House, where the ceremonies have been held on previous occasions.

Addressing concerns about the model code of conduct, officials clarified that since the awards were declared prior, there are no violations of any regulations.

Notably, President Droupadi Murmu recently conferred the Bharat Ratna, the nation's highest civilian award, to former Prime Ministers P V Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, senior BJP leader L K Advani, agriculture scientist M S Swaminathan, and former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur. These awards were bestowed after the announcement of Lok Sabha election dates on March 16, 2024.

In 2023, the President conducted two Padma Awards ceremonies, one on March 23 and another on April 5, 2023. However, due to the ongoing general elections, the schedule has been delayed this year, explained another official. A total of 132 eminent personalities were honored with Padma Awards this year.

Among them were former Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, actors Vyjayantimala Bali and Konidela Chiranjeevi, Sulabh International founder late Bindeshwar Pathak, first woman judge of Supreme Court late M Fathima Beevi, and Bombay Samachar owner Hormusji N Cama. Additionally, actor Mithun Chakraborty, Foxconn Chairman Young Liu from Taiwan, BJP veteran Ram Naik, late actor Vijaykanth, singer Usha Uthup, and philanthropist Kiran Nadar were also recipients of this coveted civilian award.

The Padma Awards, highly esteemed honors in India, are categorized into three levels: Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri. These awards recognize individuals from various fields for their exceptional contributions and achievements in their respective domains.

The recipients of the Padma Awards this year represent a diverse range of fields, including politics, arts, literature, science, and social work. Their dedication and excellence have not only brought them personal acclaim but have also contributed significantly to the advancement and enrichment of Indian society as a whole.

As the nation prepares to celebrate these remarkable individuals, the Padma Awards ceremony on April 22 will serve as a platform to honor their outstanding accomplishments and highlight their inspirational journeys. With the presence of dignitaries and officials, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the ceremony promises to be a memorable occasion, showcasing the best of Indian talent and excellence.

These States Issue Heatwave Warning: Maharashtra, Telangana, and West Bengal on Alert

Author Amish Tripathi's Bold Declaration: Why I'll Vote for Modi & His Government ?


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News