Sunil Narine Makes History with Third IPL Most Valuable Player Award
Sunil Narine Makes History with Third IPL Most Valuable Player Award

Sunil Narine, the dynamic all-rounder of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), has created history by becoming the first player to win the 'Most Valuable Player' award in the Indian Premier League (IPL) three times. This accolade comes after KKR's victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the final of the 2024 season.

Narine's journey to this achievement began in 2012 when he won his first MVP award during his debut season, taking 24 wickets. He followed this up with another MVP title in 2018, where he scored 357 runs and picked up 17 wickets.

In the 2024 season, Narine delivered a stellar performance for KKR. He amassed 488 runs and secured 17 wickets, showcasing his all-round prowess throughout the tournament.

During the IPL 2024 final against SRH, Narine played a crucial role. He bowled an economical spell, conceding just 16 runs and taking one wicket in his four overs. In the 18th over, he dismissed Jaydev Unadkat, further denting SRH's chances. Narine also contributed with the bat, scoring six runs off two balls at a strike rate of 300.

Under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer, KKR clinched their third IPL title by comfortably defeating SRH by 8 wickets.

In the final match, SRH won the toss and opted to bat first. However, they struggled against KKR's bowling attack, with Mitchell Starc, the top buy of the season, living up to his hefty price tag. Only skipper Pat Cummins (24 runs in 19 balls) and Aiden Markram (20 runs in 23 balls) managed to cross the 20-run mark as SRH were bundled out for 113 in 18.3 overs.

KKR's bowlers dominated the game, with Andre Russell (3/19), Mitchell Starc (2/14), and Harshit Rana (2/24) leading the attack. Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarthy, and Vaibhav Arora also chipped in with a wicket each.

In response, KKR chased down the 114-run target in just 10.3 overs with eight wickets in hand. Venkatesh Iyer was the star performer with an unbeaten 52 off 26 balls, supported by Rahmanullah Gurbaz's 39 off 32 balls.

The victory marked a spectacular end to KKR's campaign, with Narine's exceptional performance throughout the season earning him the prestigious MVP award for the third time, solidifying his place as one of the greatest all-rounders in IPL history.

IPL 2024 Concludes: Virat Kohli Wins Orange Cap, SRH Bags Fairplay Award

Pat Cummins Aims for Second IPL Title as Hyderabad Takes on Kolkata in Final

SRH vs RR Live Updates: IPL 2024 Qualifier 2 Preview


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News