Tamil Nadu: DMK announces three candidates for Rajya Sabha seats

CHENNAI: Tamil Nadu's ruling DMK has announced the names of three Rajya Sabha candidates who would run in the state's upcoming biennial elections. Six seats will be up for election, with the DMK-led alliance expected to win four of them. The DMK stated in a statement on Sunday that one seat had been granted to its ally Congress.

R. Girirajan, the party's Legal Cell Secretary, S. Shanmugasundaram, and K.R.N. Rajeshkumar, the Namakkal East district unit Secretary, are the DMK's three candidates. 

The AIADMK camp has yet to declare candidates for the two seats, with the BJP claiming one.  The BJP is unlikely to get a seat, while the AIADMK is likely to split the two seats between the factions commanded by O. Panneerselvam and K. Palaniswami.

Former Fisheries Minister D. Jayakumar and former Law minister CV Shanmugham are prominent within the Palaniswami side, according to AIADMK sources, while the OPS group is expected to press for party's Theni district unit Secretary S.P.M. Syedkhan.

DMK MPs come forward to help Sri Lanka facing economic crisis, to donate one month's salary

Tamil Nadu cabinet: Udayanidhi Stalin likely to be inducted

Stalin to head Tamil Nadu delegation to WEF meet in Davos


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -