Andhra Pradesh and Odisha Witness 23% Voter Turnout in Assembly Elections
Andhra Pradesh and Odisha Witness 23% Voter Turnout in Assembly Elections

As the clock struck 11 am on Monday, the two states of Andhra Pradesh and Odisha witnessed a 23% voter turnout each in their ongoing Assembly elections. This simultaneous voting aligns with the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, indicating an early surge in voter participation.

In Andhra Pradesh, prominent figures such as Governor S Abdul Nazeer, Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, and TDP leader N Chandrababu Naidu, accompanied by their families, were among the early voters. The incumbent YSRCP, under Jagan's leadership, is contending for all 175 Assembly seats, while the NDA is distributing its seats among the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Jana Sena Party, and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The TDP is vying for 144 Assembly seats, with the BJP contesting 10 and the Janasena led by Pawan Kalyan competing for the remaining 21 seats. Notably, Monday's polling in Andhra Pradesh attracted various celebrities to the ballot box. Pawan Kalyan, actor and leader of JSP, cast his vote in the Mangalagiri Assembly constituency, while Balakrishna, renowned actor and son of former Andhra Pradesh CM NT Rama Rao, exercised his franchise in the Hindupur constituency, where he is also a candidate in the Assembly elections.

PM Modi Asserts '400-Plus' Seats Achievable, Not Just Rhetoric

Phase 4 Voting Begins in Lok Sabha Election 2024: 9 States, Including J&K, in the Spotlight

Phase 4 of Lok Sabha Elections: West Bengal Tops, J&K Lags in Voter Turnout

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News