Congress and National Conference Join Hands for Loksabha elections, seat sharing final
Congress and National Conference Join Hands for Loksabha elections, seat sharing final

Srinagar: In the run-up to the Lok Sabha elections, political fervor intensifies as the BJP eyes a substantial victory while opposition parties strategize alliances to thwart Narendra Modi's electoral momentum. In this context, the Congress and National Conference have forged an electoral alliance under the banner of the INDIA alliance, vying for six Lok Sabha seats across Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh. The two parties finalized their seat-sharing arrangement in discussions culminating in an announcement on Monday.

Vice President of the National Conference and former Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir, Omar Abdullah, declared the alliance with the Congress during a joint press conference held in Delhi alongside Congress leaders Salman Khurshid and Pawan Kheda. Khurshid emphasized the paramount significance of Jammu and Kashmir in national discourse, highlighting the extensive reach of messages originating from the region.

Expressing mutual enthusiasm, Omar Abdullah affirmed the formal collaboration between the Congress and National Conference, expressing confidence in the INDIA alliance's prospects for securing victory on all six contested seats. The electoral distribution allocates three seats to each party, with Congress contesting Udhampur, Jammu, and Ladakh, while the National Conference fields candidates for Anantnag, Srinagar, and Baramulla.

Taking aim at the BJP's lofty electoral projections, Abdullah questioned the feasibility of achieving targets such as 400, 450, or 500 seats. He criticized the BJP's apparent panic as evidenced by aggressive maneuvers including raids and arrests conducted by central agencies. Both parties have already nominated candidates for three seats, with Lal Singh and Raman Bhalla representing the Congress in Udhampur and Jammu respectively, and influential Gurjar leader Mian Altaf contesting for the National Conference in Anantnag. Remaining candidates for other seats will be announced shortly.

The electoral process in Jammu and Kashmir will unfold over five phases, with voting scheduled for April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20. Results will be declared on June 4. The election schedule includes voting on April 19 for the Udhampur seat and on April 26 for the Jammu seat. Anantnag and Rajouri constituencies will vote on May 7, followed by Srinagar on May 13, and finally Baramulla on May 20. Additionally, voting for the sole Lok Sabha seat in Ladakh is slated for May 20.

Chaudhry Birendra Singh Set to Join Congress Amidst Political Shifts in Haryana

Hyderabad Police Arrests Former Bodhan MLA's Son in Rash Driving Case

Supreme Court Urges Cooperation Amidst Karnataka Government's Plea for Drought Relief


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News