Who is Rajiv Kumar? Who will take over as the chief election commissioner of the country on May 15
Who is Rajiv Kumar? Who will take over as the chief election commissioner of the country on May 15

New Delhi: The new Chief Election Commissioner of the country will be Rajiv Kumar, who will take charge on May 15. A notification in this regard has been issued. The current Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Chandra is retiring on May 14. Rajiv Kumar is a 1984 batch IAS officer. Rajiv Kumar, who took over as election commissioner on September 2, 2020, will continue in the post from May 15, 2022, to February 18, 2025. February 19, 2025, is Rajiv Kumar's 65th birthday. According to the Constitution, the term of election commissioners is six years or till the age of 65 years.  

During his more than 36 years of service to the Government of India, Rajin Kumar has served in various Ministries of the Centre and his state cadre of Bihar/Jharkhand. After obtaining academic degrees of BSc, LLB, PGDM and MA in Public Policy, Kumar has extensive work experience in the social sector, environment and forests, human resources, finance and banking. He has a deep commitment to bringing about amendments to the existing policy regime towards the use of technology applications and greater transparency, and distribution.  Rajiv Kumar retired as Finance Secretary, Government of India in February 2020. He was then appointed as the Chairman Public Enterprises Selection Board from April 2020 till he left office on August 31, 2020. 

Rajiv Kumar has also been the establishment officer of the Department of Personnel and Training since 2015. Rajiv Kumar is an ardent trekker with a keen interest in Indian classical and devotional music. Rajiv Kumar has trekked and crossed many passes in the Himalayas in Ladakh, Himachal, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, etc., Western Ghats, Palghat, etc. 

Google added 8 more Indian languages for translation, from Sanskrit to Bhojpuri

Home Minister Narottam Mishra's big announcement, physical test for police constable recruitment postponed

Summer vacation to be just 15 days this year, orders issued to Delhi government schools

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News