Nobel Prize for Chemistry scheduled to be announced today
Nobel Prize for Chemistry scheduled to be announced today

There has been a lot of discussion regarding who will be receiving the next Nobel prize for the year 2020. The Nobel Prize for Chemistry for this year will be declared on Wednesday by the Stockholm-based Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Previously, the prize was given to 183 individuals on 111 occasions. The award has been accepted by 71 scientists from the United States of America (USA), followed by 33 from Germany and the United Kingdom (UK) each, respectively. Three of the four Nobel laureates, who have been conferred for two times, have accepted one of their awards in chemistry.

Social Media platforms flareup at US President's Post; know more

Marie Curie, the only woman to have received two Nobel Prizes, received the recognition for physics and chemistry. British biochemist Frederick Sanger had received it twice for his contribution to the structure of proteins, especially that of insulin. He was one of only two persons, who was honored in the same category. Linus Pauling, the only person to receive two unshared Nobel Prizes, had received the recognition for chemistry and peace. While John Bardeen was awarded two Nobel Prizes for Physics.

USA: Rules regarding H1-B visa gets stringent; know details

Three Nobel recipients two of whom had received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry were opposed by German Nazi Party leader Adolf Hitler from receiving the award. The youngest person to receive the Nobel Prize for Chemistry was Frédéric Joliot at the age of 35 in 1935. He had received the prize with his wife Irène Joliot-Curie, the daughter of Marie and Pierre Curie. So far, five women have received the coveted award, including Marie Curie and her daughter Irène Joliot-Curie. The others to receive the award were Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin in 1964, Ada Yonath (2009), and Frances H. Arnold (2018).

What people around the world think of China after the Pandemic

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News