India women eye for the series win, South Africa women won the toss
India women eye for the series win, South Africa women won the toss


New Delhi [India], Feb 7: Second ODI is to be played between India women and South Afrifcan women in Kimberley. South Africa won the toss and elected to bowl first against India in the second ODI. Nonetheless, India's women's team took little time to get acclimatised to the conditions as they began their campaign with a thumping 88-run win led Smriti Mandhana's stroke-filled 84 and a seven-wicket share by pacers Shikha Pandey and Jhulan Goswami.

Yet again, on Wednesday a thousand kilometers away from Newlands, where the men will be playing amidst all the eyeballs, in the Kimberley hideout, the women will resume their own battle to going one-up on each other.

In South Africa, India have an opposition more familiar than any other and as equally matched as any. If not for any drastic gulf that has been created in performance or skill of the two teams in the long off-season, India would be well aware that they won't get too many days as easy as they got on Monday.


India Women (From): Punam Raut, Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj(c), Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma(w), Shikha Pandey, Jhulan Goswami, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Jemi2mah Rodrigues, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Taniya Bhatia.

South Africa Women (From): Lizelle Lee, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty(w), Mignon du Preez, Dane van Niekerk(c), Chloe Tryon, Marizanne Kapp, Sune Luus, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Andrie Steyn, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Zintle Mali.

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group