Sr. Women's National Football Championship set to begin in Kerala
Sr. Women's National Football Championship set to begin in Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala will host the Senior Women's National Football Championship (NFC) on November 28. At four venues namely Municipal Stadium, Kuthuparamba; EMS Corporation Stadium, Kozhikode; Calicut University, Kozhikode; and Calicut Medical College, Kozhikode, a total of 32 teams, divided into eight groups, will compete for the top honours.

The semi-finals will be played between the winners of the qualifying matches, with the final to be played between the two winners of the last four. The Football Delhi selection committee named midfielder Deepika Venkatesh captain of the Delhi side after a two-month training at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Delhi.

Jyoti Ann Burrett, last year's Delhi captain, will not go with the team due to an injury sustained just before the team's departure for the event. She won't be a part of the team for the first time since 2009. Delhi will begin their campaign on November 29th, alongside Jharkhand, Karnataka, and Goa, in Group D.

"Our women players have worked hard in the coaching camp, and having the opportunity to participate in the National Championship after a two-year break would undoubtedly motivate them and help them grow in their game," said Football Delhi President Shaji Prabhakara. We are optimistic about the team's performance at the National Championship.

Indian women's football team is defeated 1-6 against Brazil

PV Sindhu made it to the semifinals of Indonesia open

Shreyas Iyer's brilliant century in debut Test


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News